JETBeam Jet-UV Flashlight Review

Preface

I’ve had exactly one UV light before this one and it was SO powerful, I got headaches right away using it. I was interested in this JETBeam Jet-UV because I’ve liked JETBeam quality in the past, and I expected this would be a less powerful light.

MdAH5i3r.jpg

Coupon

Code: JETUV and Ref link


Link to Official Specs and Features

Specifications

  • LED type: 3535-UV-365nm
  • Lens’s Glass: Tempered glass
  • Shell Materials: aviation aluminum-alloy
  • Body: Militarly type III hard anodising
  • Battery: 1*AAA
  • Water Proof Level: IPX8
  • Impact resistant: 1 Meter
  • Length:70.4mm
  • Head diameter:14.8mm
  • Tail diameter:14.2mm
  • Weight:13.2gram(without battery}

Versions

Just this one version and two colors (red and blue) of the UV. There are other JETBeams which look the same – same AAA size, but they have Cree XP-G2’s, for example, and I believe TIR optics.


Short Review:

If you’re in need of a UV light for checking bills or other “smaller” tasks, I think this is a great option.

Long Review:

What’s Included

FH00HbJr.jpg

  • JETBeam Jet-UV
  • Lanyard
  • Spare o-ring
  • Manual
  • Warranty/approval card

sJx9eN5.jpg

Pictures

A few glamour shots, and here’s the runtime on a Eneloop AAA. I didn’t do any whitewall beamshots per tradition because they don’t really make sense with this light.

Package and Manual

This is the packaging

spoZBwn.jpg

I’ve come to expect from these smaller JETBeam lights. It’s a clamshell plastic container,

wEATonQ.jpg

which is display-ready. Pop it open and the light and goods come out easily. Included is a manual

fL1EOpO.jpg

which includes the usual information, and is a typical JETBeam manual.

Build Quality, Disassembly, and Durability

Build quality is one of the reasons I asked for this JETBeam

qdP1AO9.jpg

from the outset. I have been very pleased with this brand, and expected this UV light would be well built too. It did not disappoint. It’s a well built light. Of course it should be, as there’s a huge base it’s growing from: JETBeam already has an AAA light that is not UV, so this was probably a fairly simple transition.

The UV comes apart

RXtpPT2.jpg

insomuch that the cell can be exchanged. The driver

WxN6FMu.jpg

may be screwed out, but I haven’t the right tool.

Size

Around 71mm long and 15mm across the head – it’s a very small light. Pretty regular size for an AAA light,

92FcRA6.jpg

and consistent with the other JETBeams.

Vs Astrolux A01

mlKu2S6.jpg

Vs Astrolux A01

tTVeVzC.jpg

Vs Chapstick

nFLeUV8.jpg

Vs money

tF73WVa.jpg

Retention

There’s a pocket clip

nfSp23o.jpg

included, and installed.

bA5JgyG.jpg

Included too, is a lanyard which may be attached through holes

JWBv0OZ.jpg

in the tailcap.

rHhBY8p.jpg

Power

The UV is powered by a single AAA sized cell. I used Eneloops exclusively. Sorry to say I don’t have any 10440 cells, but the specs don’t mention Li-Ion compatibility and no voltage range is given: I’d stick with actual AAA cells here.

The runtime terminated at 0.856V. Now, I’m not sure what’s a good shutoff voltage for eneloop AAA’s, but that seems a little low.

User Interface and Operation

Twist for on.  Twist for off.  Yeah, fairly simple….

LED and Beam

JETBeam names the emitter

lCJ6M7b.jpg

as a “Cree Ultraviolet Light3535-UV-365nm.” I found a few references to that emitter. Here’s one that compares it to a much more expensive emitter, and found it to come fairly close to the advertised wavelength (365nm).

I have some reference 365nm lights and this light comes close enough to those, in my unmeasured opinion. Furthermore the wavelength it is, whatever that is, lights up the fluorescent strip in US dollars just fine, and makes other glowy things glow brightly.

So as advertised, this LED does it’s job well.

The beam has a tight hotspot but a surprising amount of spill. I’d really love for the beam to be much more of a TIR type beam (though I don’t think that’d work at all since I believe the polycarbonate of the TIR would block most of the UV output.) Even a UV mule would be a potentially more useful output, since everything would be fluoresced more evenly.

Beamshots, Runtime, and Lux Measurements

The runtime

neRDIpp.png

is with a Eneloop AAA. Of course, my lux meter isn’t really designed for UV, but it’s a fair approximation anyway (since starting output, whatever it is, is counted as “100% output relative”). So the graph will look bad, but it’s noteworthy that the output stays fairly consistent for about 50 minutes, then begins to drop off.

Of note is that the lens on this UV light isn’t a bandpass filter lens, so more than just UV gets through. Likely it’s that other emissions that my lux meter is picking up, but that’s really fine for my purposes on runtimes. (And actually if it hadn’t been for that, my lux meter mightn’t have read anything at all.) But as far as clean UV signal goes, it’d be great if this light had a bandpass filter lens.

I did take some UV beamshots on actual fluorescent things, so you can get a feel for how the Jet-UV works.

Money shot control

pdcjefa.jpg

And dust. So much dust.
Turns out my old Zebralight H31 has an integrated glow-ring, and the emitter fluoresces slightly under uv!!

jKbNL8F.jpg

And here’s here’s a close-up beamshot,

maDh5Wu.jpg

for a better idea of how HOT the hotspot is, yet how spilly the spill is. If that makes sense – more sense since you’ll note the white paper in the corner is still lit by the UV, but the center spot is very intense UV.

Random Comparisons and Competitive Options….

The only other UV I have experience with is the Convoy UV, a light I owned for a while. I am very UV-sensitive, and I honestly could not use that light for any length of time without getting a headache. This Jet-UV is much less powerful, and that’s a thing I like about it. It’s also cheaper.

Conclusion

This will be a handy tool, and I’m pleased to have it around. For the price, I think it’s hard to beat, and I recommend one just for kicks.

What I like

  • Build quality
  • Not terribly overpowering UV
  • Close [enough] to advertised wavelength

What I don’t like

  • Beam profile could be more diffuse
  • A clicky version would make my day

Final Thoughts

I recommend it. Fun light, and useful!


Coupon

Code: JETUV, referral link.


Notes

  • Thanks to GearBest for supplying this light, and a coupon!!
Leave a Reply

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

