Reylight Pineapple Mini Flashlight Review

Preface
Official Specs
Versions
Price
Short Review
Long Review
  What's Included
  Manual and Packaging
  Build Quality and Durability
  Size
  Retention
  Power
  User Interface and Operation
  Modes
  LED and beam
  Tint vs...
  Beamshots, Runtime, etc table.
  Comparisons
Conclusion
  What I like
  What I don't like
Up Next
Notes

Preface

I have review other Reylights before (Lan Ti and Pineapple), and like them.  I still use them quite often, actually.  Rey has an AAA light on the market, the Pineapple Mini!  At my request, Banggood sent this one over for testing.  Read on for my thoughts!


Official Specs and Features

Versions

Just one version!

Price

This light is $29.95 on Banggood right now.


Short Review

I happen to really like AAA lights.  I don’t always love twisties, and copper isn’t really my thing.  But this is a very simple UI, and the copper is coated, so for me it’s a pretty good win.  I like the light, and the tritium slot is a nice touch.

Long Review

What’s Included

  • Reylight Pineapple Mini
  • Spare o-rings (2)

20180704-IMG_4552.jpg

Package and Manual

The Mini ships in a little plastic flip-open box.  I’ve seen similar packages from Massdrop, and Massdrop was at one time a seller of this light, so this package could be a remnant of Massdrop.  Either way, the light is held in place with a little bit of foam.

The manual is there on the back of the box.  That’s the only included manual.  However, the light is simple enough (re:UI) and versatile enough (re:acceptable cell chemistry) that you don’t have to worry about breaking anything even if you aren’t using the manual all the time for operation.

Build Quality and Disassembly

The Mini has the nice heft of copper, in a small package.  The build quality is on par with what you should know from ReyLight (yes, that means I think you should own at least one ReyLight).

20180704-IMG_4566.jpg

The copper is stunning.  The coating will probably be polarizing, however.  I think most would argue that copper on flashlights shouldn’t be coated.  I’d agree.  But I happen to like the coating because I don’t like the smell of copper.  Brass, on the other hand…..

It’s possible to remove the coating, but I’m not sure what the process is.

The tritium slot in the tail is a nice touch.  It’s a 1.5 x 6 mm slot (the common size for flashlights).

20180704-IMG_4558.jpg

20180704-IMG_4562.jpg

The threads are very fine but importantly (since this is a twisty), smooth.

20180704-IMG_4565.jpg

The tail end of the light is simply a spring.  The head doesn’t have any spring at all, and has only a brass button for contacting the positive terminal of the cell.

Size

Officially 7.4 x 1.4cm.

This is a tiny AAA light, but by no means the tiniest.  The Lumintop Tool titanium (below left) and Lumintop Ant (Brass) are both similar sized, and also both clicky.  The Olight I3E EOS is much smaller, but also just one mode (and not Nichia).

20180704-IMG_4567.jpg

Retention

A steel pocket clip is included and ships installed on the Mini.  It’s a friction clip, so it’s possible to be removed.  I like the clip – it has a nice big mouth and is thus easy to get onto a pocket, and allows semi-deep carry.

20180704-IMG_4561.jpg

There’s also a loop on the tail of the light, for hanging a lanyard, etc.  It’s easy to remove this by just pulling the wire out of it’s hole.  The light hangs very nicely from it, though.

20180704-IMG_4566

Power

The Mini runs on a single AAA, but can also be used with a 10440 cell.  All my testing is with AAA Eneloop cells.  I don’t have 10440 on hand.  Rey mentions that heat will become an issue with the Li-ion cell, but the light will be around 3x brighter with that cell.

Output is unregulated, and drops as cell voltage drops.  I won’t say this light has LVP, because it’s likely the light shuts off when it’s no longer able to provide the forward voltage of the emitter, than actual LVP.  With NiMH, the light never gets too hot

High.png

Output on Medium is very stable for over 2 hours.  (Temperature fluctuations are just from room temperature).

Medium.png

Some users have reported flickering in higher modes.  In fact Rey had to replace a bunch of drivers for this very reason.  Many of those lights were sold on Amazon.  I haven’t had the flickering problem with my sample, except once or twice when I don’t tighten the head all the way down, and contact is bad (ie, user error).

User Interface and Operation

This light is a twisty.  The head is tightened and loosened for operation.  There’s moderate grip on the head, but this is a place to improve – more gripping surface on the head would be welcome.

20180704-IMG_4560.jpg

The UI is of course, very simple.  Twist for Low.  Twist off and on again for Medium.  Twist off and on again for High.  There isn’t mode memory – if you twist off and leave it off for a few seconds, your next mode will be Low.

Modes

Mode Mode Claimed Output (lm) Claimed Runtime Measured Lumens Tailcap Amps
High 125 40m 135 1.6
Medium 15 5h 8.4 0.13
Low 0.1 100h ~ ~

LED and Beam

Rey has been great about using Nichia emitters in his lights.  In fact I’d say that’s one thing that helped the popularity of his lights early on.  And this one is no exception, as it has the 4000K Nichia 219C high CRI emitter.  The reflector is lightly orange peeled.

20180704-IMG_4557.jpg

This all makes for a beam that has a pointed hotspot but trailing off gradually across the beam, to reasonable spill.  That said, it’s a keychain light, so it’s not like this will be used for throwing across the farm.  The beam is great for what it is, allowing fairly even light across the task at hand.

Tint vs BLF-348

20180630-IMG_4280.jpg

BLF-348 is on the right, in case it’s unclear.

Beamshots, Runtime, and Lux Measurements

Rey Light Pineapple Mini
Emitter Nichia 219c
Emitter Notes
Cell AAA
Glamour Shots Beamshots [0.3″, f/8, ISO 100, 5000k]
Runtime Chargetime N/A
LVP? No
Claimed Lumens (lm) 360
Lux (Measured) 47 lux @ 2.745 m
Candela (Calculated) in cd 354.1
Throw (Calculated) (m) 37.6
Throw (Claimed) (m)

Random Comparisons and Competitive Options….

There are a few similar lights, but none of them seem to mix the use of a Nichia emitter with a copper body.

Conclusion

What I like

  • Nichia 219c High CRI emitter!
  • I like that the copper is coated.  I’d like better if it was brass (It IS the Pineapple Mini, afterall.  The Pineapple is brass!)
  • Multi-chemistry support

What I don’t like

  • The copper is coated.  Even though I like it, it’s still a downside.  (Ie why bother with copper in the first place.

Up Next

Notes

  • This light was provided by Banggood for review. I was not paid to write this review.
  • This content originally appeared at zeroair.wordpress.com.  Please visit there for the best experience!
  • Whether or not I have a coupon for this light, I do have a bunch of coupons!!  Have a look at my spreadsheet for those coupons. It’s possible to subscribe and get notifications when the sheet is edited!!

Comments are closed.

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑